International Association of Seismology
and Physics of the Earth's Interior


The following links have been selected on the basis of their relevance to the interests of the IASPEI community. The emphasis is on international organisations, projects, and data centers of regional or international scope in the area of solid earth geophysics. Every attempt has been made to ensure that the URLs are accurate, but we welcome corrections. We also welcome submissions of other links which are appropriate for this page.


  • ICSU: International Council of Scientific Unions
    • CODATA: Committee on Data for Science and Technology
    • IAU: International Astronomical Union
    • ICL: Inter-Union Commission on the Lithosphere
      • ILP: International Lithosphere Program
    • IUGG: International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics
      • IACS: International Association of Cryospheric Sciences
      • IAG: International Association of Geodesy
      • IAGA: International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy
      • IAHS: International Association of Hydrological Sciences
      • IAMAS: International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences
      • IAPSO: International Association of Physical Sciences of the Ocean
      • IASPEI: International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior
        • IHFC: International Heat Flow Commission
      • IAVCEI: International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth's Interior
      • SEDI: Study of the Earth's Deep Interior
    • IUGS: International Union of Geological Sciences
    • URSI: International Union of Radio Science
  • IPRED: International Platform for Reducing Earthquake Disasters
  • IISEE: International Institute of Seismology and Earthquake Engineering 
  • United Nations
    • CTBTO: Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Office
    • UNEP: United Nations Environment Programme
    • UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
      • TWAS: Third World Academy of Sciences
    • WMO: World Meteorological Organization
  • AEIC: ASEAN Earthquake Information Center
  • ASC: Asian Seismological Commission
  • CEPREDENAC: Prevention of Natural Disasters in Central America
  • CERESIS: Regional Center for Seismology in South America
  • EGU: European Geophysical Union
  • ESC: European Seismological Commission

The following links are focused on national organizations such as geological surveys, government agencies and institutes dealing with solid earth geophysics, national scientific societies, important national data centers, and consortia of universities or other national entities. We will also include links to WWW pages that consolidate links in seismology or geophysics for a specific country. The completeness of this section depends almost entirely on the suggestions of the users of these pages.


  • AASPE: Armenian Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth


  • AEES: Australia Earthquake Engineering Society
  • AGSO: Australian Geological Survey Organisation
  • ANU/RSES: Australian National University Research School of Earth Sciences
  • QUAKES: Queensland University, Advanced Centre for Earthquake Studies
  • SRC: Seismology Reseach Centre, Melbourne
  • UTAS: University of Tasmania School of Earth Sciences


  • ZAMG: Zentralanstalt fur Meteorologie und Geodynamik
    • OGE Osterreichischen Gesellschaft fur Erdbebeningenieurwesen und Baudynamik


  • ORB: Royal Observatory of Belgium (Seismology)

Bosnia & Herzegovina



  • OSSO (Observatorio Sismologico del Sur Occidente)

Costa rica

  • OVSICORI-UNA (Observatorio Vulcanologico y Sismologico de Costa Rica)


  • KMS: Geological Survey of Denmark


  • BCSF: Bureau Central Sismologique Français, Strasbourg
  • LGIT: Laboratoire de Géophysique Interne et de Tectonophysique, Grenoble
  • OMP: Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées, Toulouse
  • OPGC: Observatoire de Physique du Globe de Clermont-Ferrand
  • ReNaSS: Reseau National de Surveillance Sismique
  • Reseau SISMALP, Observatoire de Grenoble
  • TGRS: Tres Grande Resolution Sismologique, Universite de Nice


  • ASC: Amateur Seismic Centre, Pune
  • CESS: Centre for Earth Science Studies
  • GSI: Geological Survey of India
  • IMD: India Meteorological Department
  • NICEE: National Information Center of Earthquake Engineering


  • AEIC: ASEAN Earthquake Information Center
  • VSI: Directorate of Volcanology and Geological Hazard Mitigation, Bandung



  • DIAS: Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, Geophysics



  • ERI: University of Tokyo, Earthquake Research Institute (Excellent Links Page)
  • EPS: Dept. of Earth and Planetary Science, The University of Tokyo (with English language links to Japanese institutions)
  • FREESIA: Fundamental Research on Earthquakes and Earth's Interior Anomalies (broad-band network)
  • Geological Survey of Japan
  • IISEE: International Institute of Seismology and Earthquake Engineering
  • JAMSTECH: Japan Marine Science and Technology Center
  • JMA: Japan Meteorological Agency
  • K-NET: Kyoshin Net Data Center (strong-motion)
  • NIED: National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Prevention




  • INETER: Instituto Nicaraguense de Estudios Territoriales - Direccion de Geofisica


  • GSP: Geological Survey of Pakistan
  • PMD: Pakistan Meteorological Department (Geophysics)



  • PHIVOLCS: Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology



  • NIEP: Romania National Institute for Earth Physics


  • CEME/GS-RAS: Central Experimental-Methodical Expedition, Geological Survey, Russian Academy of Sciences (Obninsk)


South Korea

  • KMA: Korea Meteorological Administration




United Kingdom

United States


  • VAST: Vietnamese Academy of Sciences and Technology

Data Centers

  • Global Research Cruise Information
  • ICET: International Center for Earth Tides
  • NESDIS: U.S. National Environmental Satellite, Information, and Data Service
  • NGDC: U.S. National Geophysical Data Center
  • NGIC: U.S. National Geomagnetic Information Center
  • PSMSL: Permanent Service for Mean Sea Level
  • WDC: World Data Center System


  • COSMOS: Consortium of Organizations for Strong Motion Observation Systems
  • CTBTO: Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization, Preparatory Commission
  • eGY: Electronic Geophysical Year 2007-2008
  • EMI: Earthquakes and Megacities Initiative
  • EPOS: European Plate Observing System
  • GEM: (Global Earthquake Model)
    • Networking: seismocontacts The joint IASPEI and ISC project: Improving Geophysical Science Link  to the Society during Natural Extreme Events, Especially in Developing Countries (“Networking of world seismologists”)
  • GERM: Geochemical Earth Reference Model
  • GSHAP: Global Seismic Hazard Assessment Program
  • InterRidge: International Co-operation in Ridge-Crest Studies
  • Manual of Seismological Observatory Practice
  • MIDAS: MIDdle America Seismograph Consortium
  • NERA: Network of European Research Infrastructures for Earthquake Risk Assessment and Mitigation
  • ODP: Ocean Drilling Project
  • OHP: Ocean network Hemisphere Project (Japanese)
  • RELEMAR/JSOP: Reducing Earthquake Losses in the Eastern Mediterranean Regions
  • REM: Reference Earth Model
  • RIDGE: Ridge InterDisciplinary Global Experiments
  • World Stress Map Project