IAPSO/IASPEI/IAVCEI Joint Tsunami Commission


The Tsunami Commission is an international group of scientists concerned with various aspects of tsunamis, including an improved understanding of the dynamics of generation, propagation, and coastal run-up and the consequences to society of the tsunami hazard. Tsunamis are generated by various submarine processes such as earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and submarine landslides, so that research is necessarily interdisciplinary, requiring studies that include the fields of seismology, volcanology, marine geology and geophysics, and hydrodynamics. Tsunami research can take the form of theoretical studies, numerical and physical modeling, and field observations acquired in the deep ocean, in offshore waters, and along coastlines. Research on past tsunamis includes the identification of tsunami evidence in geological records or historical documents, and efforts to reduce the hazard include tsunami risk evaluation, countermeasures, public education, and other mitigation programs.

The Tsunami Commission is jointly sponsored by IASPEI, IAPSO and IAVCEI. It was established at the 12th General Assembly of IUGG in Helsinki, Finland in 1960 to promote the exchange of scientific and technical information about tsunamis among nations concerned with the tsunami hazard. Since then, the Commission has held 21 Tsunami Symposia, both as part of IUGG General Assemblies and independently in alternate years.


  • Chair - Kenji Satake (Japan)
  • Vice-Chair -- Vasily Titov (USA)
  • Vice-Chair - Gerassimos Papadopoulos (Greece)
  • Secretary - Paula Dunbar (USA)




  • Abe, Kuniaki, Nippon Dental University, Niigata, JAPAN
  • Bernard, Eddie N., PMEL/NOAA, Seattle, USA
  • Borrero, Jose C., Univ. Southern California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Camfield, Fred E., U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Vicksburg, USA
    (representative of IAPSO)
  • Cherniawsky, Josef, Institute of Ocean Sciences, British Columbia, CANADA
  • Cummins,Phil, Geoscience Australia, Canberra, AUSTRALIA
  • Dunbar, Paula, NOAA/National Geophysical Data Center, Boulder, USA (Secretary)
  • Fujima, Koji, National Defense Academy, Yokosuka, JAPAN
  • Gonzalez, Frank I., PMEL/NOAA, Seattle, USA
  • Greenslade, Diana, Bureau of Meteorology Research Centre, Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
  • Gusiakov, V. K., ICM&MG SD RAS, Novosibirsk, RUSSIA (Past Chair)
  • Imamura, Fumihilko, Tohoku University, Sendai, JAPAN (Secretary)
  • Iwasaki, Sin-Iti, NIED, Tsukuba, JAPAN
  • Kanoglu, Utku, Middle East Technical Univ., Ankara, TURKEY
  • Kong, Laura, IOC/International Tsunami Information Center, Honolulu, USA
  • Koutitas, Christopher, Aritotle Univ of Thessaloniki, Helas, GREECE
  • Levin, Boris W., Institute of Oceanology, Moscow, RUSSIA
  • Marchuk, A. G., ICM&MG SD RAS, Novosibirsk, RUSSIA
  • Matsutomi, Hideo, Akita University, Akita, JAPAN
  • Mercado, A., University of Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico, USA
  • Nishimura, Yuichi, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, JAPAN (representative of IAVCEI)
  • Okal, Emile A., Northwestern University, Evanston, USA
  • Ortiz, M., CICESE Research Center, Ensenada, MEXICO
  • Papadopoulos, Gerassimos, A., National Observatory of Athens, GREECE (Vice-Chair)
  • Pelinovsky, Efim N., Inst. of Applied Physics, Nizhny Novgorod, RUSSIA
  • Power, William, IGNS, Lower Hutt, NEW ZEALAND
  • Preuss, Jane, Urban Regional Research, Seattle, USA
  • Rabinovich, Alexander, Institute of Oceanology RAS, Moscow, RUSSIA
  • Satake, Kenji, Geological Survey of Japan, Tsukuba, JAPAN (Chair, representative of IASPEI)
  • Singh, Ramesh P., Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, INDIA
  • Stephenson, Fred E., Institute of Ocean Sciences, Sidney, CANADA
  • Synolakis, Costas E., University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Tinti, Stefano, University of Bologna, Bologna, ITALY
  • Titov, Vasily, PMEL/NOAA, Seattle, USA (Vice-Chair)
  • Tsuji, Yoshinobu, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, JAPAN
  • Yalciner, Ahmet C., Middle East Technical University, Ankara, TURKEY
  • Yeh Harry, Oregon State Univ., Corvallis, USA